Thursday, 30 August 2018

Miles Franklin Award Winner 2018

The winner of the 2018 Miles Franklin Award was announced on 26 August 2018. This year the award and its $60,000 prize went to Michelle de Krester for her novel The Life to Come.

Set in Sydney, Paris and Sri Lanka, the satirical story explores themes of intimacy, friendship and loneliness. Richard Neville, Chair of the Judging Panel, said "With her characteristic wit and style, Michelle de Krester dissects the way Australians see ourselves and reflects on the ways other parts of the world see us."

De Krester won the Miles Franklin Award in 2013 for Questions of Travel.